Learn how to safely operate your boat and get your Connecticut Safe Boating Certificate in an 8-hour class provided by the Norwalk Flotilla of the USCG Auxiliary.
Many boat insurance companies offer discounts for successfully completing this course.
- Boat and Personal Watercraft Handling
- Using Charts
- Buoys and Beacons
- Rules of the Nautical Road
- Docking, Mooring, and Anchoring
- Checking Tides and Weather
- Marine Radio Operation
- Safety Equipment and Precautions
- Boating Laws and Regulations
- Trailering and Launching
The About Boating Safely (ABS) course is completed in one Saturday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Sign-in starts at 7:30 am. Be certain to present your Connecticut Conservation ID Number (now required by Connecticut) before starting the class ... you can get your number online at no charge.
The fee of $70 includes study materials and lunch. Parking is free.